Book Review: Invision

Invision by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Series: 7th book in Chronicles of Nick

Rating: 4.5 stars

Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016

Source: Review copy from publicist

WARNING: This review may contain spoilers to the previous books in the series, so GO READ THEM!!!



Sherrilyn Kenyon, I can not begin to describe what an amazing author you are. I absolutley ADORE this series. I discovered it sometime last year, before the 6th book came out. I was definitely not expecting to binge read 5 of these in one weekend and then die because I realized the next one wasn’t out yet.  If you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend you check it out. It’s EPIC, and you get so caught up in it. It’s like Shadowhunters crossed with Percy Jackson, with a whole lot of  Supernatural thrown in. 

OMGOMGOMG ITS GONNA BE A MOVIE!!! [insert excited squeal here]  More details on that later. 

I swear, nothing ever goes right for Nick. This book is no exception. I would feel sorry for him if I didn’t enjoy this series so much. He’s so dang funny and he just takes it all in stride. 

It did a pretty good job recapping, but you might wanna skim through the last book if it’s been a while. I love how it’s so complex but kinda simple at the same time. It’s like Supernatural, with a bunch of mythologies and lore that just somehow seamlessly fit together. 

In this book we get to find out more about Caleb and Xev, and what happened to Zavid. There’s a couple new characters, and some really wonky shtick is going down. Demons, hell-monkeys, and the like (basically it’s like every other Tuesday).  

 I like Kody, but Caleb is definitely my favorite after Nick.  

Ugh, but I also love Xev. And Simi. And Acheron. And Kyrian. And Cherise. And Bubba. And Mark. And Tabby. 
Basically, everyone. 

I read this wayyyy to fast, and THAT ENDING. Like, I think the epilogue might’ve actually killed me. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT ANOTHER YEAR FOR THE NEXT ONE?!?!  

(There’s already a cover and synopsis though!!!! Cannot wait!!!!! )

This book was a solid 4.5, definitely a must read. Although if you’ve already gotten this far into the series you know all of them are like that. This series is just AH-MAY-ZING!!! I’ll never get enough of good ol’Nick.  

Now,

 WHATCHA WAITING FOR?!?! 

GO READ IT!!!

Cover Reveal: Empire of Storms

AHHHH OMGOMGOMG WE HAVE A COVER!!!! PLEASE SOMEONE GIVE ME THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW!!!!  

(Note: it’s not the final art)

Ok, so I have some really mixed emotions about this. I love the background and the fire, but the face kinda throws me off. It’s different from the ones in the other books (at least to me it is). I think she looks a lot older in this (btw that is the Eye of Elena around her neck).  Either way, I know this book is going to be ABSOLUTLEY AMAZING. Sarah J. Maas has said that this is going to be the longest book so far.

I LIKE BIG BOOKS AND  I CAN NOT LIE 

Sorry, I had to say it 

Anyways, 

So much happened in the last book, and I don’t know how I’m going to last until September. 

Yeah, you heard me. 

September 

4 months from now
*lays down*
*curls into ball*

*dies*
Thoughts on the cover?

Book Review: These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman &Meagan Spooner 

Rating: 4.5 stars

I bet you’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, and I’m here to tell you that  they’re all TRUE! 

This book was SO GOOD. I could not put it down, which (sadly) doesn’t happen too often. It was one of those books, were you really want to finish it but at the same time you never want it to end. 

These Broken Stars is a sci-fi dystopia set in space, usually something I immediately love or hate. (LOVED LOVED LOVED IT)

I liked Lilac, she was strong for someone in her position, and she was human, with a personality and everything.She was not perfect, she had flaws, and  she made mistakes. I hate how most female heroines nowadays seem to be pretty much carbon copies of each other. It’s so refreshing to actually see one that’s not like all the rest. I didn’t like her all that much in the beginning, but she turned out to be so much more than the posh, delicate princess she started out as. Lilac was her own person, unique and lovable (at least later on in the story). I enjoyed reading from her perspective. 

“Lilac Rose LaRoux. Untouchable. Toxic. I should’ve been named Ivy, or Foxglove, or Belladonna.” 

I really liked Tarver. If I had to be stranded on a deserted planet with someone, I’d definitely choose Tarver. He was  snarky yet charming, and loyal to a fault. His warmth and his sense of humor would have made him a very amiable companion (in my opinion at least). He stuck around to help Lilac, which I probably wouldn’t do after what she said to him. 

“Abandon her? If only my duty or my conscience would let me. The galaxy would be better off, if you ask me. Who’d even know we were in the same pod? Except that I would know. And that would be enough.” 

The storyline was really interesting and I was soooo hooked. I found the whole idea kind of intriguing and I definitely can’t wait to the next book.  Amie Kaufman is truly a genius! Her writing is so beautiful, brimming with colorful, vibrant words. The interrogation pieces gave me vibes from Illuminae, while the romance was perfect for fans of Under the Never Sky (two of my absolute favorite books). 

“For a moment the image before us is frozen: our world, our lives, reduced to a handful broken stars half lost in uncharted space. Then it’s gone, the view swallowed by the hyperspace winds streaming past, blue-green auroras wiping the after-images away.

Basically, this book rocks. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a delicious read!

 YOU MUST READ IT NOW!! Shoo, what are you waiting for! Your new favorite book awaits!