Book Review: These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman &Meagan Spooner 

Rating: 4.5 stars

I bet you’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, and I’m here to tell you that  they’re all TRUE! 

This book was SO GOOD. I could not put it down, which (sadly) doesn’t happen too often. It was one of those books, were you really want to finish it but at the same time you never want it to end. 

These Broken Stars is a sci-fi dystopia set in space, usually something I immediately love or hate. (LOVED LOVED LOVED IT)

I liked Lilac, she was strong for someone in her position, and she was human, with a personality and everything.She was not perfect, she had flaws, and  she made mistakes. I hate how most female heroines nowadays seem to be pretty much carbon copies of each other. It’s so refreshing to actually see one that’s not like all the rest. I didn’t like her all that much in the beginning, but she turned out to be so much more than the posh, delicate princess she started out as. Lilac was her own person, unique and lovable (at least later on in the story). I enjoyed reading from her perspective. 

“Lilac Rose LaRoux. Untouchable. Toxic. I should’ve been named Ivy, or Foxglove, or Belladonna.” 

I really liked Tarver. If I had to be stranded on a deserted planet with someone, I’d definitely choose Tarver. He was  snarky yet charming, and loyal to a fault. His warmth and his sense of humor would have made him a very amiable companion (in my opinion at least). He stuck around to help Lilac, which I probably wouldn’t do after what she said to him. 

“Abandon her? If only my duty or my conscience would let me. The galaxy would be better off, if you ask me. Who’d even know we were in the same pod? Except that I would know. And that would be enough.” 

The storyline was really interesting and I was soooo hooked. I found the whole idea kind of intriguing and I definitely can’t wait to the next book.  Amie Kaufman is truly a genius! Her writing is so beautiful, brimming with colorful, vibrant words. The interrogation pieces gave me vibes from Illuminae, while the romance was perfect for fans of Under the Never Sky (two of my absolute favorite books). 

“For a moment the image before us is frozen: our world, our lives, reduced to a handful broken stars half lost in uncharted space. Then it’s gone, the view swallowed by the hyperspace winds streaming past, blue-green auroras wiping the after-images away.

Basically, this book rocks. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a delicious read!

 YOU MUST READ IT NOW!! Shoo, what are you waiting for! Your new favorite book awaits! 

Book Review: The Madman’s Daughter

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Rating: 3.5 stars

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father’s gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father’s handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father’s madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island’s inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father’s dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it’s too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father’s genius—and madness—in her own blood.

This book was nothing like I expected (in a good way). I was bored and I thought that I might as well give it a go, and DANG. This book was pretty interesting and I liked Juliete though I wasn’t sure about either Montgomery or Edward. Really did not expect that ending. 
The characters where nicely developed, and I was so mad at Juliet’s father for what he did. Out of Edward abd Montgomery I liked Edward more, thought only by a little bit. I was kinda confused as to who she liked though the tension between Montgomery and Edward was amusing. OMG and Balthazar, I loved him! He was that little puppy character that you just wanna shield from the horrible world, the sweet  and innocent one. 

I wanted to know more about the island, but mostly the world building was pretty good. I really did not see that ending coming, and the plot was enjoyable. 

I liked this book overall, but I didn’t love. it. It was a good read though I’m probably not going to continue this series, at least not right now. If your looking for something to pass the time then this book is a nice option.