Book Review: Vengeance Road 

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Rating: 4 stars

Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal. 

This book has been on my TBR list since like, forever. I finally decided to read it, and I’m glad I did. I haven’t read many western books before, so it was pretty interesting. Let me tell you something, I love a good revenge story. There won’t be a sequel, though there is a companion novel coming out next year. 

I thought this was going to be a straight and simple story, no twist and turns, but boy was I wrong. There was a good number of things that I just did not see coming. 

Kate’s a pretty badass chick.

“That sounds real nice, boy,” he says. “Now for the love of God, lower that damn pistol.”

“All right,” I says.

And I do.

Right after I shoot him through the skull.”

– Erin Bowman,“Vengeance Road.”

I liked Jesse and Will enough, but eh. TBR chemistry between her and Jesse was nice, but seriously, they just met. Lil was interesting, but wedding get to find out much about her (yet).  
Usually, I hate hate hate books where it’s told with an accent. I couldn’t read Blood Red Road ’cause of the accent. There is one in this book, and it’ll seem pretty strong at first, but you get used to it. It’s not too overbearing and once you really get into the story it’s not an issue. 
It was generally pretty fast paced, a nitty gritty western read. I would definitely reccomend this to fans of Rebel of the Sands. A gunslinging, sassy, wild, girl hellbent on revenge. Why are you not already reading this?

Leave a Reply

