Book Review: The Awakening

The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven

Rating: 4 stars

Source: NetGalley


At first, I didn’t like this book. It wasn’t until maybe 1/3 ways in that I started thing,hmm not bad, not bad at all. And then BOOM! Next thing I knew, I was in love with this book. I couldn’t put it down and OMG, I need the next one like right now. 

In the beginning I was like ugh, I don’t like this character, and ugh insta love. BUT it wasn’t until later on I realized that no, not insta love, in fact they weren’t in that kind of relationship at all. And there was a reason for Allie’s bipolarness. It all made soooooo much sense later when she met everyone and they explained what was up (nope, I’m not gonna tell you what, you’ll have to read it to find out). 

It took a while for Allie to grow on me, but she turned out to be pretty cool. I loved Aidan and everyone else (ignore that whole fake Aidan stuff and doesn’t last long thankfully). Emma and Naeemah especially intrigued me and I really hope Melissa A. Craven will write a prequel with their backstories. These are some seriously badass women and I love them! I also loved Gregg and Liam and basically everyone  in the “family”(there’s just way too many to name). These were some pretty amazin characters and seriously, that prequel needs to be a thing.  

The whole idea/concept of this book was really refreshing and original. I’ve mane read only one or two books somewhat like this and those are still really different from how it was in this book (I’m trying not to give away the Big Revelation). There were so many cute little moments in this book that made me smile, and I really liked it!

There was kind of a love triangle but it’s not a bad one. It actually adds to the plot and makes sense (I like Vince, but Team Aidan  all the way). In the beginning it seemed kinda cliche but it’s gets better, don’t worry.  I really love the friendship (yeah, you read that right) between Aidan and Allie. They’re just so friggin adorable together and it’s a very slow burn even though it seemed like insta love in the beginning (again, all will be revealed and everything has a purpose, their “connection”,  Allie’s weird mood swings. Just trust me on this one).
I would’ve given this a higher rating if not for the slow beginning, but seriously, this was amazing. Just power through the slow parts  until you make it to the awakening, where it really starts to get good (probably cuz everything finally makes sense).  You must read this, it’s just so ASDFGHJKL!!! Still kinda reeling from the ending of this. 

**I received a free review copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. It did not, in any way, influence my review of this book** 

Leave a Reply

