Top Ten Favorite Fantasy Books


Fantasy is by far my favorite genre. I just can’t resist it. It was REALLY hard narrowing this down to just 10 books! 

1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH IT HURTS!!!! I remember when I first saw it I kept putting it off because I didn’t like the original cover (I know, I know, I’m a terrible, judgemental person. I mean, I have so have some flaws, right. It just isn’t fair to you all for me to be entirely perfect). I didn’t think for a second that this would turn out be my No. 1 favorite book. This book is insanely amazing and I’m going crazy waiting for the 5th one. You HAVE to read this, like, right now. Don’t even bother with the rest of this list until you finish this amazing, wonderful, stupendous, spectacular, all-around amazing series!

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.” 

2. An Ember in the Ashes  by Sabaa Tahir


Another book I stupidly put off. I kept getting so distracted from this by other things that I didn’t read this until months after I got it. Biggest mistake of my life. This book was SO FRICKIN GOOD!!! I could live off this book. I desperately need A Torch Against the Night! Like, I don’t know how I’m supposed to wait for it. It’s not possible. Seriously,  though.  Read this. Now. 

“Life is made of so many moments that mean nothing. Then one day, a single moment comes along to define every second that comes after. Such moments are tests of courage, of strength.” 

3. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

 I love this series so much, and I’m wayyy too attached to it. I empathized with Cleo right away, and she was quickly my favorite out of the 4 POVs in this book. I don’t want to say too much about this cuz I’ll end up giving away a bunch of spoilers, but basically, this series is one of the most amazing things you’ll ever read. Most series start to decline around the middle but this only got better and better. You have, have, HAVE, to read this!!

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.”



4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Rennée Ahdieh 


I couldn’t put this down. This book trapped me inside in it’s pages, and a little part of my heart is tucked away inside this story. I heard so many good things about this, and THEY WERE SOOO TRUE! This book is just wow.  It’s so much more than just an epic romance story. It’s  beautiful.  I loved Shahrzad and Khalid. This book was written soooo well. If this was food, it would be one of those super delicious, gorgeously decorated cakes, amazing on the outside and within. I want to  eat this book up into my soul. I can’t wait to get my greedy mitts on a copy of The Rose and the Dagger. 

“Some things exist in our lives for but a brief moment. And we must let them go on to light another sky.” 

5.  The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare 


This is by far my series of the Shadowhunters realm. I love the character to pieces and I’ve retread this countless times. This series is perfection. It is goals. Beautiful story, beautiful covers, beautiful characters, and tons of feels. This book hits ya were it hurts, but you love it. Everyone needs to read this. We need to just shut down the world and all read this together. 

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” 

6.Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 


AHHHH THIS BOOK IS SOOOOOOO GOOOD!!!! This book is so new and refreshing!!! I’ve never read a story like this, it’s so original. This whole plot line, it’s gorgeous! I also love the names so much (Karou, Akira, Ziri)! It’s impossible to talk about one without spoiling either so I’m just gonna hush now. SERIOUSLY THO, READ THIS!!!!

“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. 

It did not end well.” 

7.Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee


This book is so frickin amazing. Like can we just have a moment of silence for this book? 

Ok, moment of silence over. OMFG THIS IS SO DANG GOOD LIKE I CANT EVEN. This book is just so…. asdfghjkl!!! I loved Penryn is so awesome and kickass and I love her. I mean, she chained Raffe to a grocery cart after knocking him out.  I love the way she created this post-apocalyptic world, and how it was the Angels that started it (I’m a supernatural fan, there’s no way I couldn’t fall in love with this book). You gotta read these books. Best decision of your life, may you choose to do it. 

“I never kid about my warrior demigod status.” 

“Oh. My. God.” I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. “You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.” 

8.  Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo


How can I show to you how good this book is in just one sentence? Hmm…

The producers of Harry Potter are producing the movie adaption of this book as you currently read this. 

Yep. I’m screaming inside. I can’t air for the movie and at the same time I’m terrified it’ll be a huge flop (though the likelihood of that is pretty low). This book so so friggin good! I love Alina, I love/hate the Darkling, and I love the whole idea of this series. The ending of this trilogy was so dang epic. I have never met a person who’s read this and disliked it. 

“C’mon,” he said. “One foot in front of the other. You know how it’s done”

“You’re interfering with my plan.”

“Oh really?”

“Yes. Faint, get trampled, grievous injuries all around.”

“That sounds like a brilliant plan.”

“Ah, but if I’m horribly maimed, I won’t be able to cross the Fold.”

Mal nodded slowly. “I see. I can shove you under a cart if that would help.” 

9. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

No it’s not the same series, but it’s just as good (dare I say, maybe even better). It takes place  about 2 years after the end of Ruin and Rising, and it’s  set in Ketterdam, a city on Kerch. (only an ocean away from Ravka squeeeeee)

 It’s. So. Amazing. 

Literally just look at this synopsis

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. 

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. 

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. 

This book was absolutely a-fricking-mazing and its your lose it you choose not to read it.

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”

“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.

“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.

“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.

“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.” 

“The easiest way to steal a man’s wallet is to tell him you’re going to steal his watch. You take his attention and direct it where you want it to go.” 

10. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima 


 Ok, so apparently there’s something wrong with me. For some reason I always put off books that later turn out to be my absolute favorites. I started this book about 3 different times, in three different years and HOLY MOLY WAS I MISSING OUT!!! These books are absolutely AH-MAY-ZING!!! Once you actually get into the first book, past all the info heavy first chapters, you at easily rely entranced. Hook, line, & sinker. I love how these books are different from your general fantasy novel, with their own magic system and inner-kingdom hostilities. And gosh do I ship Hans and Raisa! <– OTP right there. 

“I have lost everything, Han thought. Then he corrected himself. Every time I think I’ve lost everything, I find there’s still something else to lose”

What are your favorite fantasy books?

One thought on “Top Ten Favorite Fantasy Books

Leave a Reply

