Book Review: Truthwitch

Truthwitch  by Susan Dennard

Rating: 4.5/5 starst

I was super excited when I first heard about this book. It was on my TBR list months before it was even published. Susan Dennard is a spectacular writer, and BFFs with my favorite author, Sarah J. Maas, so I knew this was going to be an amazing book.

Safi is a Truthwitch, the first in over a century. Her  powers allow her to discern whether anyone directly in front of her is speaking the truth, making her extremely valuable to the struggling nations, poised on the brink of war.  Iseult is a Threadwitch, the extent of her powers unknown to even herself. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.  All they want is freedom, but danger is what they are served instead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch

This book was REALLY good. The beginning was kinda heavy, so I wasn’t sure about it at first, but I was soon immersed in the amazing world Susan Dennard created. Safi is an orphaned heiress, bright and headstrong. Her big mouth and recklessness can often lead to trouble, but it is usually driven by her need to protect Iseult. I liked her, but Iseult was my favorite. She is a total badass with an  troubled past and some extremely wicked mojo. She’s the yin to Safi’s yang, the calm to Safi’s chaos.

“Safi had her title to protect her, and Iseult had her heritage to damn her.”

Iseult has never felt like she truly belongs anywhere, except for when she’s at Safi’s side. I really liked how this book was focused more on friendship rather than romance.

While the relationship between Merik and Safi is swoon worthy, I really ship Iseult and Aeduan (who doesn’t love an villain turned anti-hero?).  I really hope there’s more of him in the next book and that they get together.

“My life-debt is paid, Threadwitch. If our paths cross again, make no mistake: I will kill you.”
“No, you won’t,” she whispered as the door clicked shut.
Aeduan forced himself to stay silent. She deserved no response—it would be her mistake if she thought he would spare her.

I liked the magic system in this book, it kind of reminded me of Grisha, but with it’s own unique twist. A lot of reviews said it had no world building and that it didn’t make sense, but I disagree. You just have to pay attention in the beginning to understand what’s going on. This is definitely not something you can quickly skim through. (Also, Safi and Merik isn’t insta-love.  It starts off with sparks that become a slowly but gradually burn until the end, were it blazes, bright and true. )

Merik ignored her, and with a free hand, he yanked a cloth from his coat and wiped down his engraved scabbard. “On this ship, my word is law, Domna. Do you understand? Your title means nothing here.”

Safi nodded and fought the overwhelming urge to roll her eyes. 

“But I am willing to offer you a deal. I won’t lock you in chains if you promise to stop behaving like a feral dog and instead behave like the domna you’re supposed to be.”
“But Prince”–she lowered her eyelids in an indolent blink–“my title means nothing here.”

Over all, this book was amazing, one of the best so far this year. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves Throne of Glass or the Grisha trilogy!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Truthwitch

Leave a Reply

